tohullandbackagain.reismee.nl

Birthdays, essays and exploring

It's been a while since I last posted a story, mostly because I've been incredibly busy here.

My weekly schedule itself isn't that bad: (it's mostly getting together with people and going on trips)

On Monday, I have two lectures, one from Romantic Poets and one from Second Language Acquisition.

Tuesday, I have a seminar on Second Language Acquisition.

Wednesday is my off day (though we usually plan something for Wednesdays)

Thursday, a seminar on Romantic poets. Thursday evening there's a free Yoga and Pilates session, lasting for about an hour or two.

Friday, a lecture on writing poetry and bi-weekly a workshop too.

Then I also work out about 2-3 times a week with Pleun and Renée.

On Sundays I usually Skype with my mother who sometimes grabs one of the cats to show me:


I haven't got any tests for these modules, as far as I know, just assignments. Two deadlines have already passed: for writing poetry now i had to submit 3-5 of my own poems, that had to be 500 words in total. Together with analysing a poems called 'Mancunian Miserere' by Michael Symmons Roberts, which I thought was a bit vague to say the least. That word rapport had to be 1500 words.

For Romantic Poets, I had to write an essay answering the following statement: 'Discuss The Rime of The Ancient Mariner as a tale of sin and redemption', for 2000 words. I'm not really used to writing essays that long, so it was a bit of a struggle at first, but ended up more fun to do than I first expected.

Writing Poetry Now has been the course I've enjoyed most. The lecturer is very kind and the atmosphere is very relaxed and safe, so I don't feel that awkward sharing what I've written. So far the most difficult poem to write was one in the form of a Shakespearean sonnet, which I just did to experiment with the form, it wasn't an assignment. An interesting thing we did was exploring writing modernist poetry, where we each got a postcard with some scene on it. We then had to write a line to be the title that described what was going on in the card, then one or two lines more that described the feeling. I was also told I tend to write ballads with rhythm.

Apart from schoolwork, I've also been busy with having fun. For example, Saturday a week or two back, we went to Leeds for shopping.

Then we've also had a few birthdays, one of which my own last Monday. It's really weird to be in my twenties, I am getting old. One of my presents was a visit to the local cat cafe, which I thoroughly enjoyed:

For Pleun's birthday, we planned a suprise party, after which we were to an Italian restaurant about a 30 minute drive away. Only when when we left, we already left far to late so I had to call the restaurant that we weren't going to make it in time, which was fine. Then, far too late too, we discovered we'd gotten on the wrong bus and were almost in Hull centre. We ended up ordering a taxi to come get us. After dinner, we made absolutely sure to get on the correct bus. However, that bus suddenly stopped halfway there. The lights just turned off, as did the engine. When we asked the busdriver, we were told he only was to go that far. So, we had to order a taxi again. When it arrived, it turned out to be the same driver who had a great laugh at our expense.

Later that week, I went to Hull a bit later in the evening by myself. Normally, I can get the 103 or 105, who's final stops are exactly where we live, which is brilliant. We can also get the 115, which stops about 1 minute from The Lawns, where I reside.

That evening, the 103 and 105 weren't going to get at the Hull Interchange for a really long time, so I decided to take the 115. I had taken it before and knew exactly when to get off. What I didn't know, was that there was road work somewhere near the Lawns, so it wasn't going to go there. When I realised that I recognised my surroundings at all I went to ask the busdriver, who replied: 'Oh no, we're loooong past The Lawns'. Which was great. But I figured I could just use Google Maps and find my own way home, in the dark, because I am a grown person who should be able to do that. Except Google Maps wasn't working and it was very very dark and I was very very lost. So I just went into a Fish and Chip shop, where a couple of extremely sweet women were working who seemed to feel quite a bit sorry for me. They tried explaining what way I had to go, but as it was more than a 20 minute walk I suppose I must have looked a bit confused. The oldest women ended up drawing a map for me on the paper they normally use to wrap the fish. Armed with my map, it wasn't actually that difficult to get back.

That's all for now!

Reacties

Reacties

Jelly

Cat cafés, writing poetry and cab adventures. Sounds about right! Enjoy. And send me some of your poems if you like.

Shawna

This update is awesome. You sound like you couldn't be having a better time! A room full of cats and friends on your birthday is just perfect! Keep adventuring!
PS. I'd also love to read a few poems!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!